The Pflugerville Police Department exists to serve the citizens of Pflugerville and visitors to our community with respect, fairness, and compassion. Everyone enjoys hearing a job well done including our employees. The Pflugerville Police Department is eager to learn of instances where you feel an officer or civilian employee performed in an exemplary manner.
Commendations, like complaints, help the agency gauge overall customer satisfaction with our performance. We encourage you to share your opinions regarding Pflugerville Police Department employees and the services provided to you.
Commendations may be submitted in writing, in person, or by telephone at 512-251-4004. Your comments will be forwarded through the employee’s chain of command and reviewed by the Office of the Chief of Police. After review, a copy of your comments will be placed into the employee’s personnel file and the original will be provided to the employee.
Complaints against a Pflugerville police officer must be submitted in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Verbal complaints, telephone, or anonymous complaints may be taken and investigated dependent upon the circumstances and information provided. Complainants are encouraged to identify themselves. A signed letter will be sufficient to serve as a complaint after the information has been verified.
Sec. 614.022. COMPLAINT TO BE IN WRITING AND SIGNED BY COMPLAINANT. To be considered by the head of a state agency or by the head of a fire department or local law enforcement agency, the complaint must be:
(1) in writing; and
(2) signed by the person making the complaint.
Formal complaints may be lodged by phone, by letter, or in person. In order to lodge a complaint you may contact Sgt. Mike Trammell with the Professional Standards Division or the Police Supervisor on duty.
The department does not accept complaints later than 30 days after the alleged occurrence, except when:
Paper Complaint Form – to be completed, printed and returned in person to:
The Professional Standards Unit will conduct a thorough investigation of your complaint. The investigator will contact witnesses and officers and ask them to give statements. Records and other evidence will also be collected and examined. Unless special circumstances exist, you will be advised in writing of the outcome within 60 days from receipt of the complaint.
A difference of opinion where no misconduct is found or debatable, for example a disagreement simply over the validity of a traffic/vehicle code violation or parking complainants, are advised that it is a matter for the Municipal Court to adjudicate. Unless there is specific allegation of misconduct against a member(s) of the department these complaints will not be investigated.
People who intentionally make false complaints or allegations against police officers violate Chapter 37 of the Texas Penal Code. Texas law provides punishment for an individual adjudged guilty of committing an offense if, with intent to deceive and with knowledge of the statements' meaning, he / she makes a false statement under oath or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made; and, the statement is required or authorized by law to be made under oath.
A person who commits an offense under this section can be charged with offenses ranging from a Class B Misdemeanor to a Felony of the third degree. Punishments can range from confinement of 180 days in jail to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
This information is not intended to intimidate or deter the complainant or any witness, but is provided for informational purposes and to avoid retaliation against police officers or departmental staff.