Pflugerville News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Chief Jessica Robledo to receive Women of Distinction Award

Texas Association of Mexican American Chambers of Commerce (TAMACC) Women of Distinction Award
Post Date:03/08/2019

Chief Jessica Robledo was nominated by Mayor Victor Gonzales for the Texas Association of Mexican American Chambers of Commerce (TAMACC) Women of Distinction Award and will receive this honor on Friday, March 29. Chief Robledo

The Award submittal highlighted the many impacts that Chief Robledo has had on the City of Pflugerville and highlights many programs launched under her leadership. 

The Press Announcement from TAMACC is below: 

TAMACC to Host Statewide Women of Distinction Awards Luncheon 12 Leaders from Across Texas to be Honored

 BUDA, TEXAS — The Texas Association of Mexican American Chambers of Commerce (TAMACC) will honor twelve (12) outstanding leaders at the seventh annual Women of Distinction Awards luncheon Friday, March 29, 2019 at the Omni Austin Hotel at Southpark, 4140 Governor’s Row, Austin, Texas.

Hispanic women make enormous contributions in this country’s economic, political, leadership and social landscape. To recognize some of the outstanding women, TAMACC established the annual Women of Distinction Awards. Recipients of this prestigious award come from all over Texas and are nominated from a wide spectrum of backgrounds and disciplines. Each year a Selection Committee of Latina peers and previous recipients review the applications and select 12 women to be recognized as Women of Distinction.

The 2019 Women of Distinction are:

  • Minerva Abrego-Sanchez, Associate, Andrade-Van de Putte & Associates, San Antonio
  • Mary Lupe Arana, Vice President of Operations, GFP Group, LLC, Corpus Christi
  • Dr. Barbara Baggerly-Hinojosa, Chief Executive Officer, Leadership Empowerment Group, Mercedes
  • Estela Casas, News Anchor, KVIA TV, El Paso
  • Honorable Dori Contreras, Chief Justice, 13th Court of Appeals of Texas, Edinburg
  • Dr. Diane N. De Hoyos, Assistant Vice President for Purchasing and General Services, The University of Texas at El Paso, El Paso
  • Lizette Diaz, Founder and Publisher, Solo Mujeres Magazine, Houston
  • Taina Maya, Morning News Anchor, KWTX News 10, Lorena Sheila Morataya, Founder and President,
  • Sheila Morataya Enterprises, Round Rock Monica Moreno, President, The Job Connection, Inc., El Paso
  • Jessica Robledo, Chief of Police, City of Pflugerville, Pflugerville
  • Honorable Gisela D. Triana, Justice, 3rd Court of Appeals of Texas, Austin

 “TAMACC as a 43-year-old organization has many very significant accomplishments and milestones. Our ‘Women of Distinction’ program and the recognition of very accomplished women is one of the most notable. The recipients this year and of past years are truly an inspiration,” said Samuel Guzman, TAMACC Chairman.

“Year after year we are proud and honored to recognize and celebrate the outstanding successes and contributions of endurance, excellence, and tenacity that women make to our Hispanic communities, state and nation,” said Pauline E. Anton TAMACC President and CEO. “We look forward to inducting these women into the TAMACC Women of Distinction. We are grateful for the recipients to share their stories; it is incredibly motivational and inspirational. It is the encouragement for us all to do more.”

For additional information, event tickets or sponsorship opportunities, please visit our web site at or telephone (512) 444-5727. The Texas Association of Mexican American Chambers of Commerce (TAMACC) is a nonprofit 501 (c)(6) organization created to promote business leadership, economic opportunities and provide legislative advocacy for the Hispanic business community in Texas. TAMACC was founded in 1975 to encourage opportunities in commerce and to organize local programs to improve the economic condition of the Hispanic population. TAMACC is an association with more than 15,000 members and advocates for over 700,000 Hispanic businesses in Texas.


Return to full list >>