The Pflugerville Police Department is committed to providing exemplary customer service in a respectful, fair and compassionate manner. Police personnel are carefully selected and given the best training possible in order to provide this service. Police officers have a difficult job to do; they are asked to exercise their best judgment under stressful, tense situations often with limited information and time constraints. However, the Pflugerville Police Department expects all officers to remain courteous and professional, while observing the rights of all citizens, as they perform their duties.
If a citizen believes an officer or an employee has engaged in misconduct, they have the right to file a complaint. It is the policy of the department that, dependent upon the circumstances and information provided, the Pflugerville Police Department may investigate all complaints against the department or its employees. This ensures the integrity of the department while protecting the rights and interests of both citizens and department employees.
How to file a complaint:
Complaints against a Pflugerville police officer must be submitted in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Verbal complaints, telephone, or anonymous complaints may be taken by calling 512-990-6700 or emailing firstname.lastname@example.org to voice a concern. and investigated dependent upon the circumstances and information provided. Complainants are encouraged to identify themselves. A signed letter will be sufficient to serve as a complaint after the information has been verified.
Texas Government Code, Title 6, Chapter 614.022. COMPLAINT TO BE IN WRITING AND SIGNED BY COMPLAINANT states that for the complaint to be considered by the head of a state agency or by the head of a fire department or local law enforcement agency, the complaint must be:
- in writing; and
- signed by the person making the complaint.
Formal complaints may be lodged by phone, by letter, or in person. In order to lodge a complaint, you may contact the Professional Standards Division or the Police Supervisor on duty.
The department does not accept complaints later than 30 days after the alleged occurrence, except when:
- The complaint is criminal activity. The criminal statute of limitations prevails
- The complainant shows good cause for not making the complaint earlier
- The Chief of Police/Assistant Chief accepts the complaint
Paper Complaint Form – to be completed, printed and returned in person to:
Pflugerville Police Department
Professional Standards Division
1611 E. Pfennig Ln.
Pflugerville, TX 78660
The Professional Standards Unit will conduct a thorough investigation of your complaint. The investigator will contact witnesses and officers and ask them to give statements. Records and other evidence will also be collected and examined. Unless special circumstances exist, you will be advised in writing of the outcome within 60 days from receipt of the complaint.
A difference of opinion where no misconduct is found or debatable, for example, a disagreement simply over the validity of a traffic/vehicle code violation or parking complainants, are advised that it is a matter for the Municipal Court to adjudicate. Unless there is a specific allegation of misconduct against a member(s) of the department these complaints will not be investigated.
People who intentionally make false complaints or allegations against police officers violate Chapter 37 of the Texas Penal Code. Texas law provides punishment for an individual adjudged guilty of committing an offense if, with intent to deceive and with knowledge of the statements' meaning, he / she makes a false statement under oath or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made; and, the statement is required or authorized by law to be made under oath.
A person who commits an offense under this section can be charged with offenses ranging from a Class B Misdemeanor to a Felony of the third degree. Punishments can range from confinement of 180 days in jail to 10 years of imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $10,000.
This information is not intended to intimidate or deter the complainant or any witness, but is provided for informational purposes and to avoid retaliation against police officers or departmental staff.